PUBLIC NOTICE: In observance of Juneteenth Day, the Town of Elizabethtown Town offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024.  Offices at the Municipal Building will reopen for business on Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 8:30 a.m.

SEDC Looking for Residents to Fill Out Survey on Economic Developement

The Southeastern Economic Development Commission (SEDC), located in Elizabethtown, is asking the public to identify priorities for a regional Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS). This is a critical process that will have a positive impact on every citizen in southeastern NC! 

Please go to this link to fill out a brief questionnaire that will take less than 5 minutes.

About the CEDS

The CEDS is a strategy-driven plan for regional economic development. A CEDS is the result of a regionally owned planning process designed to build capacity and guide the economic prosperity and resiliency of an area or region. It is a key component in establishing and maintaining a robust economic ecosystem by helping to build regional capacity that contributes to community success. The CEDS provides a vehicle for individuals, organizations, local governments, institutes of learning, and private industry to engage in a meaningful conversation and debate about what capacity-building efforts would best serve economic development in the region.

As required by EDA, the SEDC completes a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS) for the District every five years. An effective CEDS allows a region to maximize its economic development potential, as well as engage with the EDA and other federal partners to receive infrastructure and technical assistance grants, such as EDA’s Public Works and Economic Adjustment Assistance Programs.

 The CEDS maintains the District’s eligibility for EDA funding, a major source of infrastructure grants. Since 1968, the SEDC has secured over $123 million dollars in EDA financial assistance for public facility and technical assistance projects within the twelve-county district.

About the SEDC

The SEDC proudly serves twelve southeastern counties (Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, New Hanover, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland). It provides its member county governments with economic development planning and technical assistance in seeking grant funding from the U.S. Economic Development Administration (EDA) for projects such as public facilities and infrastructure. By providing economic education and assistance, assembling EDA investment applications, and assisting in overall district project work, the SEDC continuously endeavors to enhance the quality of life for all residents of its member counties.