PUBLIC NOTICE: In observance of Juneteenth Day, the Town of Elizabethtown Town offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19, 2024.  Offices at the Municipal Building will reopen for business on Thursday, June 20, 2024 at 8:30 a.m.

Town Recognizes Employees

The Town of Elizabethtown named their 2021 Employee of the Year and recognized another long-time staff member with naming a road after him at their Employee Thanksgiving Event on Wednesday, November 24.

Mayor Sylvia Campbell present the 2021 Employee of the Year Award to Erin Deaver. Deaver was recognized by Town Manager Dane Rideout for her willingness to take on human resource duties for the Town in addition to her responsibilities with the Police Department.


Public Works employee, Keith Smith, was recognized for his 40 years of service to the Town. According to Rideout, Smith is the longest serving employee in the Town’s history. In honor of his upcoming retirement, Rideout and Public Works Director Hugh Bledsoe revealed that the road leading into Tory Hole Park will renamed “Keith Smith Lane”. The formal renaming of the road is expected to happen at the Town Council meeting on December 6.

Employee Service Awards were also presented to the following:

20 Years of Service
Beverly Robinson – Administrative Assistant/ Certified Tax Collector

15 Years of Service
Ricky Smith – Utilities Technician II

10 Years of Service
Hugh Bledsoe – Public Service Director

5 Years of Service:
Tony Parrish – Police Chief
Joe Butler – Police Sergeant
Chris Avant – Police Sergeant
Jerimey Sykes – Water Department Technician
George Hopkins – Parks Supervisor
Samuel Hodge – Firefighter